Marine Life in the Hauraki Gulf Marine Park

Discover today. Protect for Tomorrow

The Hauraki Gulf or Tīkapa Moana is the expanse of water bounded by Auckland coastline, the Coromandel Peninsula, the Hauraki Plains and Aotea/Great Barrier Island. Most of the Gulf is part of the Hauraki Gulf Marine Park, which was established in 2000.

  • 1.2 million hectares, over 50 islands, 6 marine reserves
  • One of the most abundant and diverse marine parks in the world
  • Over 25% of the Southern Hemisphere’s marine mammals have been seen in the Marine Park
  • Visited by more than 20% of the world’s seabirds
  • Home to the Critically Endangered Bryde’s whale – one of only a handful of coastal populations of this species in the world 

So much to see!

Join the qualified marine researchers on board New Zealand’s most accessible marine research vessel and learn about how your ticket purchase is contributing directly to marine conservation. Learn more about our current research projects.

See below to learn more about the whales, dolphins, seabirds and other marine life found in the Hauraki Gulf Marine Park.